MUSHA Aleste | 東亜プラン | Toaplan / Compile | T-35013

Last week, I said a tearful goodbye to my AZN copy of Musha Aleste on the Megadrive.

武者アレスタ MUSHA Aleste 東亜プラン Toaplan / Compile SHT 6,800円 T-35013

But to tell you truth, I’ve never liked the game. For the last 10 years I thought an ‘Aleste’ was some Japanese word that had worked its way into the title (e.g. ‘Densetsu’). I didn’t realise it was a long running series, I just thought it turned up here and there dependent on regional variation (i.e. Super Aleste on the PAL SNES was renamed Space Megaforce in US territory. For some reason completely unknown to me).

At the same time, I also found out that the awesome Master System game Power Strike 2 was actually part of the series. According to Wikipedia (which probably totally wrong) It goes ;

Strikethroughs are for ones I’ve yet to play. Please tell me if I’m really missing out. Because I always thought Musha Aleste was dull. None of the originality of Gynoug/Wings of Wor or the nippy controls of Hellfire – or the fantastically brutal Twin Cobra. It’s an uninspiring, predictable vertical scroller (considering its the spawn of Zanac though, I shouldn’t be surprised). Super Aleste, although handicapped by extreeeme sloooow doooownnn surely was surely the series apex, with Dennin Aleste a close second.

What it does deliver though, is some of the most incredible artwork of ANY Megadrive game ever released. Fantastic anime-style artwork through-out, with real soul and character. Therein lies the reasoning behinf my personal sadness. Rather than losing a killer game, I’m losing a fantastic piece of aesthetic gaming history. To me, that’s what it will always be remembered for. That, and also that I sold a loose US cartridge version for £30. That was crazy times. Obviously, before the financial institution fell to pieces.

Wrap your peepers around the following.

武者アレスタ 	MUSHA Aleste 	東亜プラン 	Toaplan / Compile T-35013

武者アレスタ 	MUSHA Aleste 	東亜プラン 	Toaplan / Compile 	SHT 	6,800円 	T-35013

武者アレスタ MUSHA Aleste 東亜プラン Toaplan / Compile SHT 6,800円 T-35013

武者アレスタ MUSHA Aleste 東亜プラン Toaplan / Compile SHT 6,800円 T-35013

武者アレスタ MUSHA Aleste 東亜プラン Toaplan / Compile SHT 6,800円 T-35013

武者アレスタ 	MUSHA Aleste 	東亜プラン 	Toaplan / Compile 	SHT 	6,800円 	T-35013

武者アレスタ MUSHA Aleste 東亜プラン Toaplan / Compile SHT 6,800円 T-35013

武者アレスタ MUSHA Aleste 東亜プラン Toaplan / Compile SHT 6,800円 T-35013

Comments
3 Responses to “MUSHA Aleste | 東亜プラン | Toaplan / Compile | T-35013”
  1. MinaseTaki says:

    I don’t share your opinion about the game, I think it has good controls, cool level design (it’s got a nice japanese touch in the buildings) nice graphics and awesome music. Ah well.

    Thanks for the scans anyway, those are great.

  2. Bariarm says:

    Sorry, pal! But this is the best shooting on MD that i’ve played! Awesome music and extreme challenge! How nostalgic!! Thanks for the scans!!!

    • true true, it’s a solid little title…I just don’t think its deserving of the accolades usually bestowed upon it. It’s certainly no R-Type. I reckon Gynoug/Wings of Wor, Thunderforce 3 and Hellfire certainly ace it, in action, style and presentation…That steampunk torso boss on level 3 in Gynoug is the stuff of nightmares!

Leave a comment